Logo of the MDZ: Münchener DigitalisierungsZentrum, Digitale Bibliothek. Navigate to main page

2D and 3D Digitization

The Munich DigitiZation Center (MDZ) has been providing the rich holdings of the Bavarian State Library (BSB) on the Internet since 1997. It is the central innovation and also production unit of the BSB for developing, testing and implementing new products and processes related to the multifaceted, far-ranging subject of the 'digital library'.

Due to many years of expertise and the presence of a high quality scanning equipment, high quality digitization and mass digitization can be realized equally at the MDZ. Given the task of digitizing cultural treasures from 15 different centuries, it can be taken for granted that strict conservation requirements must be observed. The work steps from production to provision to long-term preservation in digitization follow a largely automated workflow. Scanner selection and processes for scanning particularly valuable works are carried out in close cooperation with the Institute of Conservation and Restoration (IBR).

On the website of the Bavarian State Library, a short film offers an overview of the digital 2D and 3D production at the Munich DigitiZation Center.

Digitization Workflow - from book to byte

Depending on the original, the appropriate scanning system and process are selected for the digitization process. After the scanning process, the produced images are technically validated and intellectually checked. Optionally, tables of contents are added to allow convenient navigation within the digitized copy in the viewer. The master TIFFs of the processed images are moved to the long-term archive, whereas appropriate presentation formats are generated for the presentation. The generated URNs and URLs are reported to the central URN service of the German National Library and added to the catalog records. The digitized materials of the MDZ can thus be accessed via the Digital Collections, the OPAC of the Bavarian State Library, as well as various different reference tools and portals.

In the course of the digitization process, various bibliographic, technical, administrative, and structural metadata are created that require appropriate management. All necessary editing, presentation and archiving processes are carried out in a partially automated workflow.

Public-private partnership with Google

The cooperation project with Google includes the digitization of over 2 million titles from the BSB's copyright-free stock. Most of it is already digitized and available online. The Munich DigitiZation Center fulfils an important task within the project. It handles the processing and online provision of the so-called 'library digital copy' – the digital copy of the books that the BSB receives as part of the collaboration – and organizes the long-term preservation of the images in the archive of the Leibniz Supercomputing Centre.

3D digitization for bavarikon

Beside of digitization of two-dimensional objects such as texts, maps or images, the Munich DigitiZation Center is also dedicated to digitization in 3D. The beginnings of the 3D digitization date back to the year 2007. In the context of the bavarikon project financed by the Bavarian State, several dozen 3D models from archives, libraries and museums in Bavaria are now available for interactive online viewing. The colored, photorealistic 3D measurement of cultural artifacts is often a complicated process, as the diverse materiality of cultural objects requires elaborate and time-consuming post-processing. Four different 3D scanners are available for this purpose. Since the process results in very large files with a high resolution, the data volume has to be reduced afterwards in order to provide the 3D objects via Internet. MDZ has developed a special 3D viewer for internet presentation. It allows the user to control and set the virtual light source, as well as color and gloss individually.

Logo des MDZ: Münchener DigitalisierungsZentrum, Digitale Bibliothek. Zur Startseite

2D- und 3D-Digitalisierung

Das Münchener DigitalisierungsZentrum (MDZ) bringt seit 1997 die reichhaltigen Bestände der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek (BSB) online. Es ist die zentrale Innovations- und auch Produktionseinheit der BSB für die Entwicklung, Erprobung und Inbetriebnahme neuer Produkte und Prozesse rund um das facettenreiche Großthema "Digitale Bibliothek".

Dank langjähriger Erfahrung und einer hochwertigen Ausstattung lassen sich hohe Qualität und Massendigitalisierung am MDZ gleichermaßen realisieren. Angesichts der Aufgabe, Kulturschätze aus 15 verschiedenen Jahrhunderten zu digitalisieren, ist die Beachtung strenger konservatorischer Anforderungen dabei eine Selbstverständlichkeit. Die Arbeitsschritte von der Produktion über die Bereitstellung bis zur Langzeitarchivierung in der Digitalisierung folgen einem weitgehend automatisierten Workflow. Die Scannerauswahl und die Geschäftsgänge für das Scannen besonders wertvoller Werke werden in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut für Bestandserhaltung und Restaurierung (IBR) durchgeführt.

Auf den Seiten der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek bietet ein kurzer Film einen Überblick über die digitale 2D- und 3D-Produktion des Münchener Digitalisierungszentrums.

Digitalisierungsprozess - vom Buch zum Byte

Für den Digitalisierungsvorgang werden je nach Vorlage das geeignete Scansystem- und verfahren gewählt. Nach dem Scanvorgang erfolgt eine technische Validierung und intellektuelle Prüfung der produzierten Images. Optional erfasste Inhaltsverzeichnisse (Table of Contents) ermöglichen später im Viewer ein bequemes Navigieren innerhalb des Digitalisates. Die Master-TIFFs der fertig prozessierten Digitalisate werden ins Langzeitarchiv verschoben, während für die Bereitstellung entsprechende Präsentationsformate erzeugt werden. Die generierten URNs und URLs werden an den zentralen URN-Service der Deutschen Nationalbibliothek gemeldet sowie in den Katalogaufnahmen ergänzt. Die Digitalisate des MDZ sind damit sowohl über die Digitalen Sammlungen, den OPAC der Bayerischen Staatsbibliothek als auch verschiedene übergeordnete Nachweisinstrumente und Portale aufrufbar.

Im Rahmen des Digitalisierungsgeschäftsganges entstehen verschiedene bibliographische, technische, administrative und strukturelle Metadaten, die eine entsprechende Verwaltung erfordern. Alle notwendigen Bearbeitungs-, Bereitstellungs- und Archivierungsprozesse erfolgen in einem teilautomatisierten Workflow.

Public-Privat-Partnership mit Google

Das Kooperationsprojekt mit Google umfasst die Digitalisierung von über 2 Millionen Titeln aus dem urheberrechtsfreien Bestand der BSB. Ein Großteil davon ist bereits fertig digitalisiert und online verfügbar. Das Münchener DigitalisierungsZentrum erfüllt im Rahmen des Projektes eine wichtige Aufgabe. Es übernimmt die Verarbeitung und Online-Bereitstellung der sogenannten "library digital copy" – jener digitalen Kopie der Bücher, welche die BSB im Rahmen der Zusammenarbeit erhält – und organisiert die Langzeitarchivierung der Images im Archiv des Leibniz-Rechenzentrums.

3D-Digitalisierung für bavarikon

Neben der Digitalisierung von zweidimensionalen Vorlagen wie Texten, Karten oder Bildern widmet sich das MDZ auch der Kulturgutdigitalisierung in 3D. Die Anfänge der 3D-Digitalisierung reichen bis in das Jahr 2007. Im Rahmen des durch den Freistaat Bayern finanzierten Projekts bavarikon stehen mittlerweile mehrere Dutzend 3D-Modelle aus Archiven, Bibliotheken und Museen in Bayern zur interaktiven Online-Betrachtung zur Verfügung. Die farbige, fotorealistische 3D-Vermessung von Kulturgütern ist oft ein komplizierter Prozess, da die vielfältige Materialität der Kulturobjekte eine aufwändige und langwierige Nachbearbeitung notwendig macht. Es stehen hierzu vier verschiedene 3D-Scanner zur Verfügung. Zur Darstellung im Internet müssen die hoch aufgelösten – und daher sehr großen – Dateien vom Umfang her reduziert und somit leichter übertragbar gemacht werden. In einem eigens vom MDZ entwickelten 3D-Viewer kann neben Farbigkeit und Glanz auch die virtuelle Lichtquelle individuell gesteuert werden.