Logo of the MDZ: Münchener DigitalisierungsZentrum, Digitale Bibliothek. Navigate to main page

Monuments of German Musical Art - 2nd series: Monuments of Musical Art in Bavaria

In the series 'Denkmäler deutscher Tonkunst' (Monuments of German Musical Art), selected works of various epochs and genres by composers from the German region were published starting in 1892. The strict editorial guidelines of the 'Musikgeschichtliche Kommission' (Music Historical Commission) stipulated the greatest possible fidelity to the sources as well as the reproduction of the original score arrangement.

Founded and conceived by Adolf Sandberger (1864-1943), the separate series 'Denkmäler der Tonkunst in Bayern' appeared as the second installment of the 'Denkmäler deutscher Tonkunst': Between 1900 and 1930 the now digitized 30 volumes of this series were published, in which exclusively composers who lived and worked in the area of Bavaria are represented.

Most of the works are secular and sacred instrumental and vocal music from the 16th to the 18th century, including large orchestral and stage works as well as collections of concertos, chamber and organ music. Among the composers in this series, Raselius, Hassler, Steffani, Kerll, Pachelbel, Gluck, Traëtta, Rösler (Rosetti) and Leopold Mozart may be mentioned as representatives.

The series was republished in revised form beginning in 1962, but our digitized copy is that published by Breitkopf & Härtel (vols. 1-20) or Filser & Co. (vols. 21-30) from the holdings of the music department of the BSB.

The music prints of the collection are captured by OMR (Optical Music Recognition) and can be searched via the application musiconn.scoresearch.